Tuesday, September 8, 2009

Got to drive a 2010 Camaro SS

So a couple weeks ago I had the extreme pleasure of driving a 2010 Camaro SS!! That car is a BEAST. GM let Road and Bridge have a demo of the car for a couple weeks. Pretty much everyone in the Peoria R&B office got to take it for a drive. I needed to install some software but the media was at the Easter Service Center. They told me where the software was and right when I started to think about the mileage money I was about to rack up, they asked me if I would like to take the Camaro…. Uhhhhhh…..HECK YEAH I DO!!

They hand me the keys, I walk outside and see this:



Now, you all know how passionate I am about cars…I just about lost my mind when I saw this thing. Such a beauty.

The dash looked pretty nice too, here's a view from the driver's seat:

The car surely has a ton of power, it's listed at 422-hp and 420 ft. lbs. of torque out of a 6.2-liter LS3 V8 with 6-speed manual transmission that hits 0-60 in 4.9 seconds. This one was an automatic-equipped SS which is rated at 400hp yet has a 0-60 time of 4.6 seconds because the shift points have been optimized in the automatic. There was an option to switch it over to manual mode and use some faux-paddle shifters (really just buttons on the back of the steering wheel) which really allowed the driver to feel the power.

Because of the fact that I love my job and don't want to lose it, I kept the car under total control and didn't get wild with it but it was clear that this car could provide some exhilarating moments on the ride to and from work every day! I snapped a bunch of pictures, so enjoy this fine thing of beauty.








So beautiful!
I even went to Papa John's that day because they were having a special where if you drove up in a Camaro you get a free Pizza. That was a good pepperoni pizza. They took pics of the car and posted them to Facebook. Can anyone find it on Papa Johns Facebook page?

No comments:

Post a Comment